The Internet Theater Magazine of Reviews, Features, Annotated Listings






Etcetera and
Short Term Listings


NYC Restaurants









Free Updates
Writing for Us

A CurtainUpFeature
Pulitzer Prize Winning Plays and Playwrights

The Pulitzer Prizes were created and funded by the publisher of the New York World, Joseph Pulitzer (1847-1911). The awards are administered by Columbia University and presented yearly by its president on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

The award for drama is given for an American play, with preference going to those works that depict American life. April 12, 2010 update: With the rock musical Next to Normal taking the prize in 2010, we can now count 8 musicals among the prize winners, beginning with George and Ira Gershwin's Of Thee I Sing in 1932. Between that and Next to Normal we have: Rodgers and Hammerstein's South Pacific (1950), Bock & Harnick's Fiorello! (1960), Frank Loesser's How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying (1962), Michael Bennett's A Chorus Line (1976), Stephen Sondheim's and James Lapine's Sunday in the Park with George (1985) and Jonathan Larson's Rent (1996).

Years not listed in the complete list below indicate that no awards were made:
2012-2013: Disgraced by Ayad Akhtar
2011-2012: Water by the Spoonful by Quiara Alegria Hudes
2010-2011: Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris
2009-2010: Next to Normal Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey
2008-2009: Ruined Lynn Nottage
2007-2008: August: Osage County Tracy Letts
2006-2007: Rabbit Hole David Lindsay-Abaire
2006: No Award
2004-2005: DoubtJohn Patrick Shanley
2003-2004: I Am My Own Wife Douglas Wright
2002-2003: Anna in the TropicsNilo Cruz
2001-2002: Topdog/Underdog Suzan-Lori Parks
2000-2001: Proof David Auburn
1999-2000: Dinner With Friends Donald Margulies
1998-99: Wit, Margaret Edson
1997-98: How I Learned to Drive, Paula Vogel
1996-97: No award
1995-96: Rent, Jonathan Larson
1994-95: The Young Man From Atlanta by Horton Foote
1993-94: Three Tall Women by Edward Albee
1992-93: Angels in America, Tony Kushner
1991-922: The Kentucky Cycle, Robert Schenkkan
1990-91: Lost in Yonkers, Neil Simon
1989-90: The Piano Lesson, August Wilson
1988-89: The Heidi Chronicles, Wendy Wasserstein
1987-88: Driving Miss Daisy, Alfred Uhry
1986-87: Fences, August Wilson
1985-86: No award
1984-855: Sunday in the Park With George, James Lapine
1983-84: Glengarry Glen Ross, David Mamet
1982-83: Night, Mother, Marsha Norman
1981-82: A Soldier's Play, Charles Fuller
1980-81: Crimes of the Heart, Beth Henley
1979-80: Talley's Folly, Lanford Wilson
1978-79: Buried Child, Sam Shepard
1977-78: The Gin Game, Donald L. Coburn
1976-77: The Shadow Box, Michael Cristofer
1975-76: A Chorus Line, James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante
1974-75: Seascape, Edward Albee
1973-74: No award
1972-73: That Championship Season, Jason Miller
1971-72: No award
1970-71: The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-In-The-Moon Marigolds, Paul Zindel
1969-70: No Place to be Somebody, Charles Gordone
1968-69: The Great White Hope, Howard Sackler
1966-67: A Delicate Balance, Edward Albee
1965-66: No award
1964-655: The Subject Was Roses, Frank D. Gilroy
1963-64: No award
1962-63: No award
1961-62: How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Frank Loesser, Abe Burrowsn, Willie Gilbert, Jack Weinstock
1960-61: All the Way Home, Tad Mosel
1959-60: Fiorello!, Jerome Weidman and George Abbott
1958-59: J.B., Archibald MacLeish
1957-58: Look Homeward Angel, Ketti Frings
1956-57: Long Day's Journey into Night, Eugene O'Neill
1955-56: Diary of Anne Frank, Albert Hackett and Frances Goodrich
1954-55: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Tennessee Williams
1953-54: The Teahouse of the August Moon, John Patrick
1952-53: Picnic, William Inge
1951-52: The Shriker, Joseph Kramm
1950-51: No award
1949-50: South Pacific, by Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II and Joshua Logan
1948-49: Death of a Salesman, Arthur Miller
1947-48: A Streetcar Named Desire, Tennessee Williams
1945-46: State of the Union, Russell Crouse and Howard Lindsay
1944-45: Harvey, Mary Chase
1943-44: No award
1942-43: The Skin of Our Teeth, Thornton Wilder
1941-42: No award 1940-41: There Shall Be No Night, Robert E. Sherwood
1939-40: The Time of Your Life, William Saroyan (awarded but refused by the playwright)
1938-39: Abe Lincoln in Illinois, Robert E. Sherwood
1937-38: Our Town, Thornton Wilder
1936-37: You Can't Take It With You, Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman
1935-36: Idiot's Delight, Robert E. Sherwood
1934-35: The Old Maid, Zoe Akins
1933-34: Men in White, Sidney Kingsley
1932-33: Both Your Houses, Maxwell Anderson
1931-32: Of Thee I Sing, George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind and Ira Gershwin
1930-31: Alison's House, Susan Glaspell
1929-30: The Green Pastures, Marc Connelly
1928-29: Street Scene, Elmer L. Rice
1927-28: Strange Interlude, Eugene O'Neill
1926-27: In Abraham's Bosom, Paul E. Green
1925-26: Craig's Wife, George Kelly
1924-25: They Knew What They Wanted, Sidney Howard
1923-24: Hell-Bent Fer Heaven, Hatcher Hughes
1922-23: Icebound, Owen Davis
1921-22: Anna Christie, Eugene O'Neill
1920-21: Miss Lulu Bett, Zona Gale
1919-20: Beyond the Horizon, Eugene O'Neill
1917-18: Why Marry, Jesse Lynch Williams

broadway musicals: the 101 greatest shows of all time
Easy-on-the budget super gift for yourself and your musical loving friends. Tons of gorgeous pictures.

Leonard Maltin's Classic Movie Guide
Leonard Maltin's 2007 Movie Guide

At This Theater Cover
At This Theater

Leonard Maltin's 2005 Movie Guide

The Broadway Theatre Archive>


©Copyright 2006, Elyse Sommer.
Information from this site may not be reproduced in print or online without specific permission from